“Premio Roma Danza” for Choreography and Video-Dance: the finals

Final stages for the 2018 edition of Premio Roma Danza organized by Accademia Nazionale di Danza

Premio Roma Danza Choreography Video-Dance
click on image to watch the promo video

Official communiqué:

Premio Roma Danza

The Premio Roma Danza 2018 is a central activity in this year’s celebrations marking the 70th anniversary of the National Academy of Dance, Beyond the Myth 1948-2018.

Now in its 16th edition, the competition has, since 2011, alternated annually between best performance for dancers and best choreography, placing talents from both disciplines and from around the world in the spotlights. From 8-12 July, 2018, the suggestive open-air Teatro Grande on the grounds of the National Academy of Dance, with the ancient Roman Palatine hill as backdrop, will host creations by choreographers representing a wide international panorama. A new video-dance section will be inaugurated for this occasion, presented in the Academy’s indoor Teatro Ruskaja in front of a special jury of experts in the area of technology applied to the arts. The Premio Roma Danza values excellence in the world of choreography – a special occasion that stimulates the creation of an artistic terrain in which artists share and compare, in keeping with the poetic sense of a never-ending quest for artistic achievement.  The historical heritage that marks the theme of this year’s annual celebrations also provides the setting for this 2018 edition of the Prize, which will bring to the stage performance action, moving images and bodies both physical and virtual, all parts of one greater whole.

The jury engaged to select the winners will include authoritative figures in the world of choreography, dance journalism and artistic programming. Presidents of the Jury for past editions have made their contributions to the recognized prestige of the Premio Roma Danza, and these include important international dance celebrities like Vladimir Vassiliev, Milorad Miscovitch, Jean Babilée, Ekaterina Maximova, Violette Verdy, Boris Akimov, Carla Fracci, Jorma Uotinen, Ushio Amagatsu and Susanne Linke.

The Prize Presentation Ceremony will take on July 12 at the National Academy’s open-air Teatro Grande in the presence of a knowledgeable public of dance professionals and students that continues to grow each year. In addition to cash prizes totaling some €16,000, further Special Prizes offered to emerging talents will include residencies, commissions and performance opportunities.

                                                       Maria Enrica Palmieri,
Director – National Academy of Dance, Rome

Members of the International Jury:

International Choreographic Competition


The dancer and choreographer Koffi Koko is known as one of the initiators and most prominent representatives of the modern African dance scene


Playwright and dance critic for Tanzjournal and Ballettanz. One of the main focuses of her work is reporting on the dance scenes of Eastern Europe, Israel and the Arab countries.


Artistic director of the festival Rencontres Choreographique de Carthage and of “We don’t contemporary” of Hamburg. Also member of the artistic commission for the Triennale l’Afrique Danse at the Institut Français in Paris


Coordinator and person in charge of special projects for Roma Europa Festival.


Choreographer, dancer and director of Maqamant Dance Theatre, the most dynamic choreographic centre in the mediterranean area. He is also founder of BIPOD annual festival for contemporary dance in Beirut.


Professor of performance studies and digital arts at the University “La Sapienza” in Rome. Expert in theoretical and historical studies on 20th century theatre and performance.


Director, screenwriter and cinematographer, currently jury member of David di Donatello movie awards. He is one of the most authoritative Italian experts in the field of high definition and its applications to cinema and television.

Names of the candidates selected for the semi-finals (listed according to time of application delivery):

Choreography Section:

  • Eulalia Di Pietro
  • Maria Grazia Minopoli
  • Sanga Ouattara
  • Hamdi Dridi – Lakhdher
  • Annarita Pasculli
  • Anna Hop
  • Hu Hu
  • Ioanna Strati
  • Gestum Project
  • Xu Yi Ming
  • Giorgio Movavero
  • Carlo Massari
  • Giovanni Napoli
  • Elena Salierno
  • Silvia Autorino​
Video-Dance Section:

  • Xiao Huang
  • Nail Long Song
  • Dasa Grgic
  • Francesca Vasta
  • Curzi – Giansante
  • Cora Gasparotti
  • Sonia Daniele
  • Angela Mingardo
  • Mariagiovanna Esposito

Monday 9 July

  • 9.30PM – Semi-finals for Group A competitors (Choreography Section) at Teatro Grande

Tuesday 10 July

  • From 5.00PM – Screening of Semi-finalists’ videos (Video-Dance Section) at Teatro Ruskaja
  • 9.30PM – Semi-finals for Group B competitors (Choreography Section) at Teatro Grande

Wednesday 11 July

  • From 5.00PM – Screening of Finalists’ videos (Video-Dance Section) at Teatro Ruskaja
  • ore 21,30 – Finals of the Premio Roma Danza 2018 at Teatro Grande

Thursday 12 July

Gala evening with Prize winners and with Rossella Battisti as MC. Within the event, the performance Omaggio a Cebron – MOBILE reconstructed by Beatrice Libonati (assistant: Cristina Caponera) and four short choreographic excerpts from the final performances of the four AND Schools will be staged.

  • from 6.00PM to 9.00PM the winning video of the Video-Dance Section will be screened at Teatro Ruskaja
  • from 9.30PM Award Presentation at Teatro Grande

Location: Accademia Nazionale di Danza, Largo Arrigo VII, 5, Roma, Italy
Free entrance on July 9-10-11 . It’s possible to book a free ticket for the Gala evening on July 12 by sending a mail to premioroma.and@gmail.com

Full credits can be seen on the official website premioromadanzaand.wixsite.com

Condividi su / Share on

Se vuoi, mandaci un commento:

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.